Article, WSJ: “Longing for Great Lost Works”

In a very odd convergence of events, Matt at work brought in the following article about Great Lost Works, found in his daily Wall Street Journal:

Both William Shakespeare and Miguel de Cervantes died April 23, 1616, the same exact date but 10 days apart, since England was on the Julian Calendar while Spain was on the Gregorian. It’s a fortunate coincidence (or near coincidence) because collectively, they produced one of the greatest missing literary works of all time, the play ‘Cardenio.’

It’s an Odd Convergence because I recently finished reading Interred With Their Bones, which is all about the search for the missing Cardenio. Even Odder, apparently Matt never really noticed that I was reading Interred With Their Bones, but assumed I was reading the Complete Works of Shakespeare when I was looking for a monologue for a friend. Anyway, look! Apparently Cardenio isn’t a Made Up Thing!

Other news: Here’s my reading pile:

Yes, there are all of the books I’m currently reading, with the exception of The Favored Child there on the bottom. You’ll notice how careful I am to not let any New Moon get on PRIDE AND PREJUDICE AND ZOMBIES.

And in case you are shaking your head at the fact that I am indeed subjecting myself to reading New Moon, first of all, I promised my sister (and I learned my lesson about breaking promises to my sister after I had to sign a contract IN BLOOD that I would read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone before graduating high school all those years ago. I started reading it the night before I graduated, so as to not offend her royal highness.)

Secondly, why else do you think I’m reading so many books at the same time (Book-ADHD aside)? If I was only reading New Moon, I shouldn’t be held accountable for my actions.

Thirdly, let me show you Picture Number Two:

I am on page 227, and I have used 24 Post-It flags of various colors. You’ll notice that the majority of them are orange and yellow. Those are for when Bella’s a Bitch While Narrating and Really Bad Writing, respectively.

Let’s just say it’s a miracle my wall hasn’t been dented.

And so that I don’t end with the Twilight series, OH MY GOD YOU GUYS:

Zombies mash-up author receives $575,000 for follow-up, ABRAHAM LINCOLN: VAMPIRE HUNTER.

CAN’T. FUCKING. WAIT. OMG.

Leave a Reply

