Essays: “Me Talk Pretty One Day” by David Sedaris

me talk prettyI just realized: this book wasn’t included in my “Currently Reading” Picture I posted earlier this week. Dangit! I am still exactly where I was three days ago (or whatever it was).

Me Talk Pretty One Day was a book that was always on my “Gee, someday I’m going to read that book” list – there was no urgent need to read it (unlike PRIDE AND PREJUDICE AND ZOMBIES, which, still savoring), but I wanted to make sure I did read it.

Having finished it, I am … underwhelmed. And not because I don’t appreciate David Sedaris’s brand of humor; I think it’s because I know a few people who have read this book and others by him and raved about him, and his essays are the Best Thing Since Sliced Bread, and I’ll Never Laugh Again Like When I Read Sedaris.

But … I didn’t. I dunno; there were parts that were humorous, but did I fall out of my chair laughing (as I did at the Sermon on the Mount speech from Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal)? No, I did not.

And again, that’s not to say I didn’t like it: I did. The first half is a series of essays describing David’s childhood in North Carolina and his career path through Crystal Meth Addict/”Artist” to Unqualified Creating Writing Teacher in Chicago; the second half is his experiences living in Paris and being unable to speak the language. All the essays were full of amazing language, and he has a nice, dry wit that I can appreciate.

But I was not found rolling on the floor laughing my ass off at it. Again, not a bad thing; just a disappointment, because I was told by people that he is the Funniest Writer Ever.

I guess those people haven’t read Lamb.

Grade for Me Talk Pretty One Day: 2.5 stars

Leave a Reply

