Fiction: “Little Women” by Louisa May Alcott

Dudes, I tried. I seem to have vague memories of reading the abridged version back when I was a kid, and wanted to revisit that when I began reading this, oh, over a month ago, but … I do not remember Little Women being so preachy.

Maybe I shouldn’t have read the introduction, where it is revealed that Ms. Alcott wrote the book specifically as a moralizing tome for young, impressionable ladies. I’m not impressionable anymore (thank God), so it just wore on me.

Where was the sweet romance between Jo and Laurie that people keep talking about? Why is everyone so nice to each other? Even Amy apologizes to Jo after her temper tantrum.

I got to where Jo cut off her hair so Marmee could go to Washington. I can’t read anymore. It wears on me, heavily, and I don’t have the energy to force myself to read a book I’m not enjoying just because it’s ‘classic American literature.’

So. I quit. Next up: Christopher Moore’s Fool, a retelling of King Lear from the Fool’s point of view.

Grade for Little Women: No stars ( + Chuck Bass Disapproves, because, really? Chuck Bass is the antithesis of Little Women)

Leave a Reply

