Fiction: “Naked Heat” by “Richard Castle”

Dudes, after the travesty in decision-making that was “reading The Mayor of Casterbridge,” I am so proud of myself that I finished this book in, like, 48 hours. Granted, I had a big assist from my time in Boston this weekend (no, thank you, Holiday Inn Express-Saugus and the Public Garden), but this is how I’m supposed to read books: quickly and efficiently, in less than a week.

So where does the story pick up from Heat Wave? Well, for one, Jameson Rook’s article on Nikki and her team has been published, and though we don’t get to read it, we’re left to believe it’s a lot like No Doubt during Tragic Kingdom‘s huge sales. You know, the video for “Don’t Speak”? Where everyone’s trying to make a big deal out of Gwen and the boys aren’t having it? And even Gwen’s pissed that she’s become the center of attention? Well, substitute Nikki Heat for Gwen and Raley and Ochoa for Adrian, Tom and Tony, and that’s essentially how the whole situation shook out. Oh, and Heat’s pissed at Rook for making her all popular and stuff.

But the actual case is this: Cassidy Towne, one of the premier gossip hounds for one of the leading New York City papers, is stabbed in the back. And while that would be juicy enough, it turns out that Heat’s old pal Jameson Rook just happened to be doing a story on Towne, and so they’re back working together on a case.

The book still reads like a longer episode of Castle, and since that’s a show I enjoy weekly (OH SHIT I just remembered I still owe Brad five bucks for his raincheck Season One Castle he bought for me dammit), I will continue to read the Nikki Heat series.

And, much like the TV show, “Richard Castle” rewards his readers with little nuggets like these:

Heat didn’t like to bigfoot [detectives] Malcolm and Reynolds, but she wanted to check out the Dragonfly herself. [142]

I’ll admit, it took me a couple of seconds, but yes, that is a rather oblique reference to the great Malcolm Reynolds of Firefly, played by the awesome Nathan Fillion.

There weren’t as many weird grammar things in this book, which gives me hope — maybe someday, I’ll read one that has no weird grammar things. This was the only one I caught:

Detective Heat knew Soleil Gray had a music video shoot that day because her lawyer had mentioned it the afternoon before when she accused Heat of harassing her client at her places of business. [226]

It just seems that there are too many prepositional phrases in that sentence.

So while I got Naked Heat from the library, I’ll be keeping an eye out for it used, as well as the third book in the series, Heat Rises. And I think the best part about these books? Is that you don’t have to be a fan of Castle to enjoy them. I mean, yeah, that’s how I got into it, but I’d like to think that if I happened across either of these books on the shelf in the library or the now-defunct Borders or wherever, and there wasn’t an author photograph or a dot that tells me to watch Castle to tip me off, I’d enjoy it as a separate entity. So, if you don’t watch Castle, that’s okay — the books are great on their own.

Grade for Naked Heat: 3.5 stars

2 thoughts on “Fiction: “Naked Heat” by “Richard Castle”

  1. Thanks. I read Heat Wave just a few days ago, and I also noticed a lot of the same unwieldy grammatical constructs you mentioned. Entertaining nonetheless.

    But probably the most entertaining Castle tie-in so far has to be the OGN for Richard Castle’s Deadly Storm. Different writer, and the graphic medium allows for a more rollicking tale.

    • Thanks for commenting! And I’m glad to hear that Deadly Storm was entertaining. I’ll definitely be reading that in the future.

Leave a Reply

