The Collaborators: William Shakespeare’s Star Wars

I AM TAKING A BREAK FROM CLEANING TO POST THIS

See, I host an annual Christmas party.  (I was almost going to add “every year,” but then I remembered that that’s what “annual” meant, and that’s where my head’s at, you guys.)  The Christmas Party is for people that I used to work with.  And this year, no one has declined.  That means, in less than 48 hours, my apartment will be filled with 23 adults, one toddler, and two infants.  What the everloving fuck did I get myself into?

Because — and you may have gleaned this from my reviews — I’m not the most organized person.  I have spent the majority of the afternoon and evening cleaning my apartment.  The living room and office are done, the kitchen is 75% done (and will be complete before I go to bed, so help me God), and the bathroom — well, I’ll take care of that tomorrow.  And bake cookies.  And finish someone’s gift before he shows up right at 5 like he did last year.  And as for everyone else’s presents: for the majority of you, being invited into my abode should be present enough, and then I’m baking you cookies.  Unless you’re allergic to coconut, you’re going to get cookies and LIKE IT.  (Just kidding, I love you all.)

So I took a moment to check my Facebook and I see that my counterpart Erica (of NYC Bookworm, if you don’t already know) has already posted her pre-review of our next book, William Shakespeare’s Star Wars.  And I swear, and then I say, “I’m gonna take a break from cleaning and post this so at least ONE TIME, I can post my thing on the same day.”

If the theme song isn't stuck in your head, I don't know what you're even doing.

If Han Solo doesn't shoot first, there's gonna be a scene.
(I’m not sure why those pictures are so small … but I also know I’m not going to take a moment to fix it.)

Full confession: Erica, I haven’t read your review yet.  I saw the link and said “DAMMIT I’M GONNA DO THIS FOR ONCE.”

So here’s what I know about William Shakespeare’s Star Wars:

  • It’s the story of Star Wars: Episode IV: A New Hope, told in iambic pentameter.
  • It should be hilarious.

I would like to point out, however, that I know *all* about Regular Star Wars, because I have seen ALL of the Star Wars movies.  So many jokes I can get, you guys!  This is going to be epic!

In fact, here’s what I want out of William Shakespeare’s Star Wars:

  • References to the prequels and how much they suck.  In iambic pentameter.
  • Let’s face it; everything’s funnier in iambic pentameter.
  • Iambic pentameter.  I’m just gonna keep saying that.
  • If Han Solo doesn’t shoot first, then I quit.
  • I also would like a reference to Darth Vader’s enormous helmet, and possibly, his dolls.

Personally, I’m excited to read something funny.  Like, I know going in that this should be hysterical.  Don’t know if y’all are aware, but I like funny things.  Making jokes is kind of my jam.  And while I enjoyed Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister and Brave New World, they weren’t really … funny, y’know?  I’m ready for a little laughter.

Honestly, I don’t know what this collab is going to look like.  I mean, we usually talk about characterization and plot and theme, and … it’s Star Wars.  I guess I can see if there are references to Shakespearean plays — outside of the ones found in the movies, that is.  But honestly?  I’m giving you a heads-up, Erica: our Tweetversation may just be me tweeting out my favorite lines.

Okay, before I wrap this up, let me read Erica’s review.  *hold music*

OH MAN I GUESS IT IS A PLAY

I NEVER THOUGHT ABOUT IT THAT WAY

H2 CROWD WE ARE ACTING THIS OUT AT OUR NEXT NEW YEAR’S PARTY

I WANNA BE C3PO NO ARGUMENTS

As for the shortest book – I guess you’re right.  Honestly, I just want to finish a book.  Because yeah, I still have fifty pages of Dracula, and that review will be full of strong words for various reasons.

Okay, I’ve rambled plenty, and I have 25% of a kitchen to clean.  Here’s where I’d leave with a Star Wars reference, but all I can come up with is Han Solo telling the diner guys “sorry about the mess,” but it’s not like I shot Greedo out there.

So hopefully, after the party, by the end of the week, we’ll be having our 3rd Tweetversation.  Follow us at the following social media sites!  (It’ll be fun, I promise!  Now seriously, I need to be asleep in ninety minutes so I don’t completely crap out at work, I gotta go.)

Alaina – @WillBeFunOrElse
Erica – @NYCBookworm84 / nycbookworm.com

Leave a Reply

