2013 Recap

As stated in my review for H is for Homicide, 2013 is now my worst year on-record reading-wise.  I read 27 books last year, down from the 2012 total of 29.  17 of those 27 books were ones I had not read before, which is down from 2012’s 21 new-to-me-at-that-time count.  But it’s still more than half, so, take that, broadened horizons!

I have two goals for 2014:

1. Break 30 books read, dammit!
2. For a stretch goal: looking back through my records (because yes, I have records, shut up), my best year on-record is 2008 (which predates That’s What She Read by a whole year), in which I read 46 books.  As a stretch goal, I would love to read 46 books again.  And the next time I bitch about how reading classic literature takes longer (see: Dracula, Great Expectations), I would like to have one of my readers point me back to 2008 because that was the year I read all six of Jane Austen’s novels.  SIX.  IN ONE YEAR.  GODDAMMIT.

So anyway — now comes one of the best times of the year: the time I scroll back through my feed and link to all the reviews I wrote in the past year, in case y’all missed one or something.  But I enjoy it because I get to make in-jokes with the hyperlinks.  Look, you guys, I am easily amused.

If a book has an asterisk after it (*), it means I had not read it prior to 2013.

January
1. Special Topics in Calamity Physics by Marisha Pessl*
2. Killing Floor by Lee Child*

February
3. The Lunatic Cafe by Laurell K. Hamilton
4. The Runaway Jury by John Grisham

March
5. Unnatural Exposure by Patricia Cornwell*
6. After the Abduction by Sabrina Jeffries*
7. Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding
8. Cat on a Hot Tin Roof by Tennessee Williams*

April
9. Nerve by Dick Francis

May
10. Island of Vice by Richard Zacks*
11. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
12. My Wicked Little Lies by Victoria Alexander*

June
13. Red Dragon by Thomas Harris
14. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare*

July
15. Gilligan’s Wake by Tom Carson
16. Dear Old Dead by Jane Haddam

August
17. Dead as a Doornail by Charlaine Harris*
18. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn*
19. Moonraker by Ian Fleming*
[NOW with bonus tie-in at Movies Alaina’s Never Seen!]

September
20. Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister by Gregory Maguire*
[See the pre-review as part of The Collaborators! here]

October
21. Beyond Innocence by Emma Holly*
22. Witness in Death by J.D. Robb*
23. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley*
[See the pre-review as part of The Collaborators! here]

November
24. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins*

December
25. Dracula by Bram Stoker
26. William Shakespeare’s Star Wars by Ian Doescher*
[See the pre-review as part of The Collaborators! here]
27. H is for Homicide by Sue Grafton

Leave a Reply

