2014 Recap

Well, this is the latest I’ve ever done my year-end recap. I mean, on the one hand, I had my best December on record, so that pushed my reviews back about a month. On the other hand, holy hell, I’ve got this to do and I’ve read two books in January, and I’m on track to finish a third, so being behind might turn into a Thing.

When I wrote my 2013 Recap, I set myself a goal:

I have two goals for 2014:

1. Break 30 books read, dammit!

2. For a stretch goal: looking back through my records (because yes, I have records, shut up), mybest year on-record is 2008 (which predates That’s What She Read by a whole year), in which I read 46 books.  As a stretch goal, I would love to read 46 books again.

So what was my final result?

37. I read 37 books last year.

kuzcotopia

"C'mon, Yzma, put your hands in the air!"

You guys, 2014 was my best year here at That’s What She Read. 37 books! That’s amazing! I have every right to do a little Dance of Awesome right now.

In addition, thanks to being parked across from the main branch of the Portland Public Library for six months, 26 of those books were ones I’d never read before. Man, I’m proud of me right now.

ANYWAY. What am I looking forward to in 2015? Well, I want to break 40 books. I can do it. This is a thing I can do. In addition, there’ll be a few more Collaborations between myself and Erica, and we’ve got my 200th reviewed book coming up fairly shortly. Plus, I may have a couple of other things up my sleeve.

So now, the breakdown. And remember, if it has an asterisk next to it, it was a book I’d never read before.

Also, I don’t say this often, mainly because I still operate under the impression that I’m the only one that reads this, but to all my readers: thanks. You guys are awesome.

January
1. Some Like to Shock by Carole Mortimer*
2. And Only to Deceive by Tasha Alexander*
3. Hawkeye: My Life As a Weapon Vol. 1 by Matt Fraction*
4. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs*

February
5. Redwall by Brian Jacques*
[See the pre-review as part of The Collaborators! here]
6. Susannah Morrow by Megan Chance*

March
7. A Kiss At Midnight by Eloisa James*
8. Deadlock by Sara Paretsky
9. Prima Donna by Megan Chance*

April
10. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen*
11. Strangers on a Train by Patricia Highsmith*
[See the pre-review as part of The Collaborators! here]

May
12. The Race Underground by Doug Most*
13. Mildred Pierce by James M. Cain*

June
14. Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez*
15. Divergent by Veronica Roth*
16. Judgment in Death by J.D. Robb*

July
17. Heat Rises by “Richard Castle”*
18. The Pelican Brief by John Grisham
19. The Beekeeper’s Apprentice by Laurie R. King **
20. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
21. A Monstrous Regiment of Women by Laurie R. King**
[** As I said in the combined post (linked here), I didn’t want to do a re-review of books I’ve already read twice (or more) in my time doing this blog.]

August
22. The Empire Striketh Back by Ian Doescher*
[See the pre-review as part of The Collaborators! here]
23. A Letter of Mary by Laurie R. King**
24. The Hound of the Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle*
25. The Moor by Laurie R. King*

September
26. A Streetcar Named Desire by Tennessee Williams*
27. The Gun Seller by Hugh Laurie
28. Demon Rumm by Sandra Brown*
29. Nickel and Dimed by Barbara Ehrenreich*

October
30. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
31. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
[As stated in my review for Mockingjay, I again declined to re-review these books because I didn’t really have anything else to add. Their original reviews can be found here and here.]

November
32. The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton*
33. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins*

December
34. Roman Blood by Steven Saylor
35. Death at Gallows Green by Robin Paige*
36. Gypsy Lord by Kat Martin*
37. Charade by Sandra Brown*

Also, in case you want to get into A Game of Thrones but want to know how the first two hundred pages end up, you can get a fun refresher of the plot here and here. (I have no idea if the Game of Thrones Project will continue – I’d like it to, but I need to double-check with my partner.)

Finally, I wouldn’t be a good friend unless I told you to BUY MY FRIEND JEN’S BOOK.

And that’s a wrap. Bring on the new year! … er, one month late. Well, what else is new.

Leave a Reply

