The Collaborators!: “Egg & Spoon” by Gregory Maguire

Hey, remember yesterday when I welcomed in the new year one month late? What better way to kick off the new year than with the first #Collaboration of 2015?

If the theme song isn't stuck in your head, I don't know what you're even doing.

Erica of NYC Bookworm graciously sent me a second copy of Egg & Spoon she ended up with last month, so that means that I owe Erica a book. Seriously, Erica, you name it, I’ll buy it and ship it to you.

egg and spoon

Now, in a nice, crazy, not-so-random happenstance, Gregory Maguire was the author of the first Collaboration we did, Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister. It’s like we’ve come full circle, but only if circles don’t have an end. I mean, they don’t end, they’re circular, but “coming full circle” has a sense of finality to it, and we are far from over. (*sigh* Alaina, you over-explained the joke.)

However, I have no freaking idea what the book is about. Humpty Dumpty, maybe? I mean, Mr. Maguire typically takes fairy and folk tales (The Wizard of Oz, Cinderella, Hansel & Gretel) and give them a unique twist, usually in a different era of history. How is he going to humanize (i.e., “turn into a human”) Humpty Dumpty?

Wait, Humpty Dumpty didn’t run away with the spoon. Hickory Dickory Dock, the mouse ran up the clock … who ran away with the spoon?

Uhhhh … I might need to revisit my Mother Goose before reading this …

ANYWAY, according to the book jacket, this takes place in Tsarist Russia. Damn. I have never been sadder that something didn’t take place in Soviet Russia, just so I could say In Soviet Russia, book takes place in you! Reading the description further, apparently our heroine is Elena Rudina, so we all know I’m going to have fun with that. Her father has died — okay, that’s not fun — and her mother is following suit. Elena’s brother has been conscripted into the Tsarist army, and there is not enough food. Also, Baba Yaga is there, and I believe she was the witch who made stone soup?

Okay, the more I keep trying to find links, the more I realize that I am now old enough to not remember a single fucking thing about my childhood. So I’m just going to finish this off by saying that this book is probably going to be good, seeing as how Jimmy Fallon just made a whole bunch of Russia jokes.

Leave a Reply

